Surveillance Guide

Volt AI Pricing: $45 to $65 per Camera per Month What Volt AI Costs by Segment, What the Fee Includes, and How It Compares With the Alternatives

Volt AI is one of the few AI video security vendors that puts a per-camera price on its website, which makes it possible to budget before a sales call. The catch is the word "starting" and the line that final pricing depends on camera count and agreement. This guide takes the published rate card apart, works the vendor's own 100-camera example, and shows where a business buyer lands against the software-only and hardware-bound alternatives.

How much does Volt AI cost?

Volt AI publishes three starting rates, billed per connected camera stream per month: $45 for K-12 schools (public, private and charter), $55 for higher education, and $65 for organizations, which Volt defines as companies, cities and public agencies. Every plan includes the full platform. Volt's own example is a 100-camera K-12 school at $4,500 per month, which it describes as a starting-price estimate of $54,000 per year.

Two qualifiers sit next to those numbers on volt.ai and they matter. "Starting" means the rate is the floor of a range, not the quote. "Final pricing depends on your camera count and agreement" means the figure on the contract is negotiated on volume and term. So the honest way to read the rate card is: a business should budget from $65 per camera per month and expect the number to move with how many cameras it connects and how long it commits.

The Published Volt AI Rate Card

Figures are from volt.ai/pricing as published in September 2026. Volt bills monthly per camera stream and does not state a minimum camera count on the page.

Segment Starting rate 6 cameras 20 cameras 100 cameras Per year, 100 cameras
K-12 schools $45 per camera per month $270 $900 $4,500 (Volt's example) $54,000
Higher education $55 per camera per month $330 $1,100 $5,500 $66,000
Organizations (companies, cities, agencies) $65 per camera per month $390 $1,300 $6,500 $78,000

All rows except Volt's own 100-camera K-12 example are arithmetic on the published starting rate. They are floors, not quotes.

What every Volt AI plan includes

Volt states that every plan includes the full platform: alerts verified by trained reviewers in its Video Security Operations Center before they are escalated, a live 3D map of the campus with floor-by-floor visibility, optional verified 911 notification, alerts by phone, SMS and email, custom escalation plans, cloud video management with archiving of incident footage for up to 10 years, and onboarding and support. The detection set covers weapons, medical emergencies and falls, fights, unauthorized access, loitering, crowd formation, anomalies and bullying. Volt does not use facial recognition.

What you do not have to buy

Cameras. Volt works with most IP cameras that support RTSP, which it puts at over 200 brands, and integrates with video systems such as Genetec. That is the same model Surveillant uses and the reason both vendors can price per camera per month with no hardware line: the cameras you own are the sensors, and the subscription is the intelligence on top. Public-sector buyers can also purchase through GSA contract 47QTCA25D008G or cooperative purchasing, and Volt offers grant assistance through a partner.

What "Depends on Camera Count and Agreement" Means in Practice

In this market the phrase almost always describes three levers: a volume break as the camera count rises, a discount for a multi-year term, and an onboarding or professional services line that may be waived or charged depending on the size of the deal. Volt does not publish any of those schedules, so we will not invent them. What can be said from the rate card alone is that the published price is the one a small estate on a monthly term should expect, and that larger estates negotiating longer terms should expect something below it.

The practical consequence for a buyer is that the $65 organizations rate is a budgeting floor, not a ceiling. A 20-camera business will not pay less than $1,300 per month at the published rate, and it should not assume it will pay much less without a term commitment. That is the number to put in the approval request.

The other thing to price is the review center itself. It is included, which is generous if you use it, and it is the reason Volt costs more to deliver than a pure software subscription. A school office that will never watch a raw alert is getting exactly what it pays for. A distribution center with a security lead on shift is paying for a desk it will rarely call.

Volt AI Pricing Compared With the Alternatives

The comparison that matters is not Volt against every vendor; it is Volt against the two shapes of purchase a buyer is actually choosing between. One is another software subscription on the cameras you own. The other is replacing the cameras with a vendor that bundles hardware and software. Only published figures appear below, and reseller estimates are labeled.

Vendor Model Published price 20 cameras, monthly software cost Hardware up front
Volt AI Software on existing cameras plus human review center From $45, $55 or $65 per camera per month by segment $900 to $1,300 at starting rates None
Surveillant Software on existing cameras, self-serve, no review center $49 to $75 per camera per month; Starter $49 (1), Plus $149 (2), Pro $449 (6), Elite $1,499 (20) $1,499 (Elite plan) None
Verkada Proprietary cloud cameras, license per camera Cameras $699 to $5,299 MSRP; license roughly $15 to $20 per camera per month (reseller estimate) About $300 to $400 in licenses (estimate) $13,980 to $105,980 for 20 cameras, before installation
Rhombus Proprietary cloud cameras, license per camera Cameras $399 to $3,299; license $149 per camera per year About $248 $7,980 to $65,980 for 20 cameras, before installation
Ambient.ai, Coram AI AI on existing cameras (Coram via on-site appliance) Not published Quote only Edge appliances on site (Ambient); one appliance per site (Coram)

Read across the 20-camera row and the shape is clear. The two software-only vendors cost $900 to $1,500 per month and nothing up front. The two camera vendors cost a few hundred a month in licenses and $8,000 to $106,000 up front, plus $250 to $600 per camera to install, and a replaced fleet is a capital project with a schedule and a contractor to manage rather than a subscription you can start on Tuesday. If the existing cameras work, the software route is cheaper in year one by a wide margin and reversible in a way the hardware route is not.

Between Volt and Surveillant the difference at 20 cameras is about $200 a month in Volt's favor at its starting rate, and what you get for the $200 is the opposite of what you might expect: Surveillant is the one without the human review layer. The extra cost buys plain-English search across every camera, custom detection prompts, occupancy and dwell analytics, and a plan you buy online today at a price that does not move after a call. Whether the review center is worth more than that depends entirely on whether anyone on your side will look at an alert. The full feature-by-feature comparison is on the Volt AI alternative page, and if Ambient.ai is the other name on your list, see Volt AI vs Ambient.ai for how human-verified alerts compare with an edge deployment built for a staffed SOC.

For public-sector buyers the calculus tilts toward Volt: the education rates are lower than anything else in the table, and GSA and cooperative purchasing remove a procurement step. For a business at the $65 rate, run the numbers both ways. The Verkada pricing breakdown is the right next read if a fleet replacement is genuinely on the table, and our own per-camera plans are the figures used above.

Is Volt AI Worth $65 per Camera for a Business?

It is worth it if the review center replaces a cost you would otherwise carry: a night guard, a monitoring contract, or a manager on call who dreads the alert tone. It is not worth it if your team already triages its own alerts, because then the human layer is the most expensive part of the fee and the part you use least. That is the whole test, and it has nothing to do with the AI, which is comparable across the software-only vendors.

A useful way to settle it is to run a self-serve platform on the same streams for a month before signing anything. If the alerts get handled, you know a review desk is optional and you can buy on price and features. If they pile up unread, you have learned that you need the service, and Volt's fee looks reasonable next to a guard at $25 to $45 an hour or a remote monitoring contract at $50 to $200 per camera per month.

Either way, the cameras stay. The part of the decision that used to be irreversible, buying a fleet to get the software, is gone with both of these vendors, which is the real reason a per-camera software price is the only number that matters now.

Volt AI Pricing Questions

Does Volt AI have a free trial?

Volt's pricing page does not advertise a free trial or a self-serve signup; the path it describes is a conversation with its team to plan camera count and agreement. If you want to test AI on your streams before any commitment, a self-serve platform such as Surveillant lets you connect a camera and run rules the same day, which is a practical way to find out what you need before you sign a Volt agreement.

Is there a minimum number of cameras for Volt AI?

Volt does not state a minimum on its pricing page. Its per-connected-camera model and its example of a 100-camera school suggest the product is designed for whole campuses rather than a single door, and the "depends on camera count" language means small estates should not expect a discount from the starting rate.

Does the Volt AI price include the cameras?

No, and it does not need to. Volt runs on the IP cameras you already have over RTSP, over 200 brands by its count, and integrates with systems like Genetec. There is no hardware line in the price because there is no hardware to buy, which is the same model Surveillant uses and the main reason both are cheaper in year one than replacing a fleet.

Can a business get the $45 K-12 rate?

Not as published. Volt tiers its starting rates by buyer type: $45 for K-12, $55 for higher education and $65 for organizations, which covers companies, cities and public agencies. A business should budget from $65 per camera per month and treat anything lower as the outcome of a volume or term negotiation rather than the list price.

How does Volt AI pricing compare with Surveillant?

At 20 cameras, Volt's organizations rate is about $1,300 per month at its published floor and Surveillant's Elite plan is $1,499. Volt includes a human review center and a 3D map; Surveillant includes natural-language search, custom detection prompts and operations analytics, with no agreement stage. Schools get lower Volt rates of $45 and $55 that Surveillant does not match.

See the Same Cameras at a Published Price

Connect the streams Volt would use, set the after-hours rules, and search a week of footage in plain English. The plan is the price, and nothing on the wall changes.